It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board

• Question about neck and upper back pain

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-15-2006, 02:05 PM   #1
    dkl4330
    (female)

dkl4330 HB User
    Question about neck and upper back pain

I have a problem with my C5 & C6 discs in my neck. I've had 2 MRI's, which show disc degeneration.

But for the past year, I've had pain radiating down my neck to the trapezious and rhomboid muscles. I'm also experiencing tingling down my left arm and leg.

The pain in my back muscles is pretty constant. I take pain medication, and have undergone physical therapy, but it really hasn't helped. I think part of my problem is that I sit at a computer all day, and it's catching up with me. I've been doing computer work for 15 years, and I'm 51 years old.

Have any of you had neck pain which has caused other pain, especially in the areas I mentioned. Or could I have two separate things going on?

Thanks, Donna

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-15-2006, 07:28 PM   #2
    pooh26
    (female)

pooh26 HB User
    Re: Question about neck and upper back pain

My problem was not in the neck but it was my lower back. It was the L4-5 and L5-S1. I had been diagnosed with severe degenerative disc disease at the age of 23 from 15 yrs of competitive gymnastics. But I had the same pain you are describing. It would radiate down my legs and toes but the back pain was always there. The tingling was from the disc pressing on my nerve roots. On Jan. 18th I had a fusion done and I have not experienced the tingling anymore since the pressure from the disc was removed from the nerves. What you are likely having is the pressure on the nerves from the actual damaged disc. Hope this helped at all.

Old 03-15-2006, 08:01 PM   #3
    BobM
    (male)

BobM HB User