It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board

• 5 days post-op acdf...a few questions

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 06-26-2007, 04:39 PM   #1
    alison352
    (female)

alison352 HB User
    5 days post-op acdf...a few questions

Hi,

I am a newbie and was hoping someone could answer a few questions and a few observations.

I am 5 days post-op acdf, and although my NS went over alot of information with me, some he didn't (or may of and I just don't remember...which is probably the case) and I was hoping for some insight.

My surgery was on C5/C6 due to a herniated disk with severe spinal cord and nerve compression and bone spurs on the vertebraes. My major complaints were muscle spasms across back and shoulders and neck...awful awful awful and sporadic shooting pains down my right arm. I was in PT for months before the surgery and it really helped with the spasms.

Post surgery, so far, the shooting pains down the arm are gone, but the muscle spasms are back in full force. I know it's from the surgery, but they are debilitating! The area of the fusion, the incision, and the feeling of swallowing a golf ball everytime I eat something, all put together don't come close to the pain of the spasms.

So my first question is about meds. (I was sent home post-op with dilaudid and have flexeril and soma from before the surgery...none of them help the spams or the pain from them...)

What muscle relaxer (and/or pain killers) do you feel as worked best for you? (I know everyone's chemistry is different and what may work for one person may not work for another but I'm asking anyway...)