It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board

• Recently dx w/ cervical & lumbar stenosis & have questions

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 02-07-2008, 06:32 PM   #1
    Wymom94
    (female)

Wymom94 HB User
    Recently dx w/ cervical & lumbar stenosis & have questions

Hi, I'm new to this message board and I don't know very much (yet) about spinal disorders, but I could sure use some help if there's anyone who can offer me some. I had a lumbar MRI in mid-December and a cervical one last week. Both locations showed degenerative disc disease, arthritis, and stenosis (and a whole lotta terms I've been trying to look up). I had a consult with a neurosurgeon last month regarding the lumbar MRI and am waiting for referral to a new neurosurgeon for consult on the cervical and 2nd opinion on the lumbar. The neuro consult said a decompression lumbar laminectomy was my only option for getting rid of the pain (down both legs, making walking or standing w/o Rx drugs impossible.. and hard even with meds). I'm hoping the 2nd consult will have more encouraging options for me and explain exactly what the results show. In the meantime, I'd love to know what the MRI results mean in layman's terms. Can anyone here help me out with that?