It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board

• Havin 4 level fusion, when can I travel?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-20-2008, 09:51 AM   #1
    DecLady
    (female)

DecLady HB User
    Havin 4 level fusion, when can I travel?

I am not good at the medical terms, but it is a 4 level fusion in my neck, C-3 to C-7 which is set for April 28th.
    I live near Louisville , KY, and my daughter lives in Milwaukee, WI. She can arrange to come and help me for a few days, but then wants to drive me back to WI, a 7+ hour drive.
    I have not talked to my surgeon yet about this idea.

Is there any way I will be able to manage doing this? Or is it a foolish idea?
    She thinks that if I can stay with her for 2 weeks, then I will be able to manage on my own after that.

My brother can come and help me in mid April if I need it, but there doesn't seem to be anyone available in the first two weeks after surgery at this point.

For those of you that have had a 4 level fusion, could you make this trip?

Declady

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-20-2008, 11:50 AM   #2
    purpletrail
    (female)

purpletrail HB User
    Re: Havin 4 level fusion, when can I travel?

I had a posterior fusion of C3-7 a week ago. I can't imagine riding in a car for over 7 hours on around day 3-5 post surgery. I was actually in the hospital for the first 3 days. A long car ride would be very uncomfortable. I am just picturing all of the time being upright, instead of reclining or horizontal. Also, meals on the roads... You are still trying to figure out a manageable pain medication regime at this stage and feel pretty loopy. I am 47 and handled the procedure well and still would not have been able to deal with a road trip.