It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board

• Running after disc surgery...??

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 10-31-2008, 07:36 PM   #1
    Frootcakes
    (female)

Frootcakes HB User
    Running after disc surgery...??

Hi! In June, I herniated a disk in my neck (forgetting I was 44, I played too rough in a giant blow-up alligator causing the injury...although, it has been a great story to explain my constantly stiff neck!) Now, after months of physical therapy and three epidural injections, I still have very limited movement of my neck and radicular pain and weakness in my left arm. The orthopedic surgeon has recommended disc removal.
    I have been training for a half marathon for many months now, and my daily runs do not help or hurt my neck. So - I am wondering that if I have surgery in December, I know I'll have to take some time off training for my neck to heal, but it is even slightly possible that I could resume my training in time for a half marathon in late March? I'd have to start running at least by the middle of February to feel comfortable doing a half marathon. Has anyone had any experience with running and neck surgery?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-01-2008, 03:14 AM   #2
    Nicole74
    (female)

Nicole74 HB UserNicole74 HB User
    Re: Running after disc surgery...??