It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board

• Multiple Back/Spine Problems - docs say I'm a mystery??

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 01-03-2009, 03:21 AM   #1
    BeautifulMess37
    (female)

BeautifulMess37 HB User
    Unhappy Multiple Back/Spine Problems - docs say I'm a mystery??

Hi....this is my first time posting a new thread on here. I'm currently on a mission to try to figure out what exactly is going on with me. I figured, if maybe I could share my story...I could possibly find someone who is either going through the same thing or could try to help me lead to any answers I'm looking for.

Almost 2 years ago, I was diagnosed with osteoarthritis in my spine. I also suffer from chronic migraines and borderline RA (rheumatoid arthritis). Along with that, I have herniated and bulging discs in several areas of my spine. My C4-C5 is practically bone to bone and my T12-L1 has a pretty bad bulge. Last September, my spine doctors wanted to send me off to another hospital to get a procedure done that injects steroids in between the joints in hopes to relieve any pain I was experiencing. But before that happened, they gave me a prescription to take Prednisone for 10 days to see if that could help any pain in the meantime. The first night I took the pills, I end up having an allergic reaction. I had internal itching EVERYWHERE (from my palms, down to my legs, etc.), rapid heartbeat, slow breathing and throat swelling. I immediately took some benadryl and discontinued the medication. I saw my doctor again and he had a confused face, basically scratching his head because he wondered if it was even possible for patients to be allergic to prednisone. From there, I was sent to see an Allergy doctor. I was tested to determine which steroid could be used for the procedure in the other hospital.