It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board

• Cervical Spine Surgery - Rear Approach???

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 04-10-2009, 06:51 PM   #1
    Robbie445
    (male)

Robbie445 HB User
    Cervical Spine Surgery - Rear Approach???

Hi Everyone,

I have another question. As some of you know, I'm soon to have C-5, C-6 & C-7 fused. However, I have an issue that I'd like to raise here and get your opinion on.

Of course, I use my voice constantly in my profession. I am a Christian Recording Artist. My voice is the tool that I always utilize and need.

I understand that there are some slight risks of damaging the Larynx and also the nerve going to it during this surgery. My surgeon and I are going to discuss the risk on Wednesday in depth and I will decide at that time whether or not I want him to perform the surgery through the front or the back, in other words a Posterior approach versus an Anterior approach.

Has anyone here had Cervical Spine Surgery in a similar fashion and if so what was it like? What was the recovery like?

My Surgeon told me that because of the muscle and tissue that would have to be cut into from the Posterior approach, the recovery and pain would be much more intense and lengthened.

Anyone with insight into this situation, your input would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you all once more as always and God bless!

Last edited by Administrator; 04-17-2014 at 10:04 AM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-11-2009, 04:46 AM   #2
    sunshine221
    Veteran
    (female)

sunshine221 HB User
    Re: Cervical Spine Surgery - Rear Approach???

Hi