It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board

• Neurosurgeon appointment Monday

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-06-2013, 05:24 PM   #1
    kimUSA
    (female)

kimUSA HB User
    Lightbulb Neurosurgeon appointment Monday

Hello to everyone. I have never done any kind of post to a board before so advance apologies for improper etiquette. So here is my situation. Diagnosed with fibromyalgia.. 2 years ago went on Savella... At first it was great as a nerve block but over time had some unpleasant side effects so i have weaned off of it...this has been about 2 months ago... Meanwhile 6 months ago I fell in the tub and landed flat on my back even through the Savella i noticed pain at mid back and behind my left shoulder blade and at the base of my skull, also low back pain intermittent ... also my fine motor skills are compromised the general practitioner ordered MRI of my back. Below are the results. I cannot take narcotics ( side effects) nausea etc, have tried the tramadol and all those, don't seem to respond well to those either. I am wondering if anyone has had a similar experience and had surgery for something similar? I am only 46 but feel 86 and don't want to be drugged my whole life. I am seeing the neurosurgeon Monday and would like to make sense of these MRI and be able to have an intelligent voice in what to ask for please help... Thank you :-)

MRI c spine results C SPINE
    FINDINGS: Mild degenerative disc disease C3-C4 and C4-C5. Vertebral body height
    and alignment unremarkable. Minimal hypertrophic degenerative changes C1-C2.
    Predental and prevertebral space preserved. Posterior central and far right
    paracentral disc protrusion hooded by spur occurring at the C3-C4 segment.
    Greatest diameter of the posterior disc spur complex occuring right
    paracentrally measuring 5.1 mm. This process is causing moderate right