It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board

My New Life... C6 & C7 Disc Herniated

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-03-2013, 04:14 PM   #1
Faye8521
(female)

Faye8521 HB User
My New Life... C6 & C7 Disc Herniated

Hello all,

I am new to all this health board and I am very grateful too see there are many categories and post about our conditions

I feel for all of you and I cannot wait to give my support and advice to all of you.

A little bit about myself. I am generally a happy person. High on life. I am married -age 40 with two kids with a wonderful husband.

I was in a car accident June 12, 2011 and I got hit from behind and since then I had some bad neck and lower back problems.

My main concern is my neck and hands. I also have carpel tunnel syndrome and since I have been diagnosed with disc herniation. My whole life has turned around and has dragged me down into a dark hole. I must say I am thankful that I am on medication that masks that pain and that my friends and family are there to support me.

The question is.........do you think I need surgery? Will surgery help me? Will I loose my range of motion? Instead of doing a Fusion can the doctors perform a Disecteomy?......Help!

Here is what my MRI states:

C2/3: The intervertebral disc is adequately maintained in height and signal intensity. There is no significant disc protrusion or bulge identified. The spinal and neural foraminal canals are widely patent. The facet and uncovertebral joints appear normal

C3/4 Mild loss of disc height.

C4/5 Mild loss of disc height. The spinal neural foraminal canals are widely patent.