It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board

• When need for surgery for cervical stenosis

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 01-10-2003, 10:24 AM   #1
    Spimo

Spimo HB User
    Post When need for surgery for cervical stenosis

Hi,
    I was so glad to find this board because I am new to spinal problems. Had great pain in arm and shoulder but it resolved (2 mos)then a month later I could not move my right foot off the floor. This lasted 3 weeks. Had MRI and DX'ed with cervical stenosis so referred to a surgon. Now, it too has gotten better and my appointment is'nt til Feb. Would they still consider surgery if your symptoms are much better? So confusing. Would appreciate some throughts from some patient's who know from experience.
    Thanks, Spimo

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-10-2003, 10:33 AM   #2
    mothmin

mothmin HB User
    Talking

Sorry to say, pain isn't the bottom line with spinal problems. I was in horrible pain for 6 months ( left ring finger) I did pt and the pain went away, however my mri showed severe pinch of spial cord, so much so that fluid couldn't pass through, I'm 4 weeks post-op today (wearing my soft collar). the thing with spinal disorders is, you can't tell which pain is caused by it, and which pain is just every day pains. good luck

Old 01-10-2003, 02:43 PM   #3
    Niki47

Niki47 HB User
    Dear Spimo,

... the worst problems are often painless. Once there is sufficient pressure on your spinal cord, the dysfunction can effect everything below the bad level. So, if your trouble spot is cervical, both arms, legs and all vital organs are at risk.

I am 9 weeks post op, and I was crippled up before surgery. It happened overnight. Not to scare you, but to demonstrate the importance of treatment. Do not be fooled by the "on again- off again" symptoms.