It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board

• Asleep or Numbness??

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 06-03-2003, 06:29 AM   #1
    Midge130

Midge130 HB User
    Question Asleep or Numbness??

For the past (about) 3 weeks, I've been sleeping with my arms above my head while I'm on my back. I've never done this before. Anyway, I always wake up with my arms partially asleep, every time!! Do you think they are really going to sleep, or could it be numbness coming on? I've never experienced numbness before.

Thanks,
    Midge

------------------
    -Born a premie in 1964-8 wks early
    -C-section 1990
    -C-section 1992
    -C-section 1995
    -Shoulder pain since 2000
    -C4-C5 bone spurs causing central canal stenosis. Annular tear.
    -C5-C6 mild narrowing of canal.
    -C6-C7 disc bone spur and annular tear.
    -C7-T1 bone spur and annular tear.
    -Myelogram 6-5-03
    -Surgery-unknown yet, probably in 7-03
    -C4-C5 bone spurs causing central canal stenosis. Annular tear.
    -C5-C6 mild narrowing of canal.
    -C6-C7 disc bone spur and annular tear.
    -C7-T1 bone spur and annular tear.
    -No surgery;I'm not bad enough yet!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-03-2003, 06:44 AM   #2
    Memer
    Inactive

Memer HB User
    Hey Midge,

That exact same thing happened to me before surgery, where I would sleep with my arms above my head and wake up with tingling down my arms and hands and sometimes the whole hand feeling dead. Everything would stop in a matter of seconds once I moved. I think we put pressure on the nerves with our arms like that, but there's something about putting the arms above the head that eases the neck pain--and that's, I guess, why we do it.