It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board

• Disc Herniation w/Cord Compression - SCARED

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 02-24-2014, 08:58 AM   #1
    Aprice37
    (female)

Aprice37 HB User
    Disc Herniation w/Cord Compression - SCARED

I am new to all of this. I have had a some minor muscle issues with my neck in the past that were all resolved by massage and Advil. About a month ago I developed pain like I had never felt before along with numbness/tingling in my pinky and ring finger. I aslo have pain in my right shoulderblade as well as twitching and pain that I can only describe as feeling like someone is squeezing my spine in their hand really hard?

I had an MRI but when my ortho called and told me I had a herniation that was pressing on the cord I just freaked out and forgot to ask where. I know I have a C8 nerve compression so I assume it's C7-T1. I am going back in today to follow up and will get additional details.

Since some of you are way more experienced with this can you give me a list of things I should ask? Also if anyone has any recommendations for doctors in NC please let me know.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-26-2014, 05:34 AM   #2
    Nanook 73
    (female)

Nanook 73 HB User
    Re: Disc Herniation w/Cord Compression - SCARED

Hi.. I am new to this as well..one and a half weeks and scared also! I have spinal cord involvement and wonder just how long I can wait for surgery, since the NS said I needed it ASAP!
    Did your last appointment give you more info than you really wanted to hear? I have been literally afraid to move since hearing the diagnosis; although I have been walking for exercise. It is life changing, is it not?

Old 02-26-2014, 04:49 PM   #3
    Aprice37
    (female)

Aprice37 HB User