It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Teen Health Message Board

Hesitant to Say - Depressed or overreacting?

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2014, 10:13 PM   #1
Laur881
(female)

Laur881 HB User
Hesitant to Say - Depressed or overreacting?

I'm a high-school student, and I recently had another episode of explosive anger and a fit of crying. This isn't uncommon for me, and honestly, I cannot remember when I started feeling this way. I've been really strung up on my overall mental condition for quite a period of time, but I've always put it off and told myself that I have a very good life and should be grateful for everything I have. But now that I'm older I began to think that what if my life was and is not okay..

The first sign that might be affecting me is that my family has never been a very stable family. Our financial state is pretty horrendous, so I always try to save money and deny myself things I actually want to get or do. Also, my parents cannot get along at all and argue practically every day. They are to the point where they even distrust each other going out. One parent has a rather sharp tongue, and makes fun of everything about me, from my figure to my mistakes. Although that might just be his/her sense of humor, it really got to me and I'm really insecure and have no confidence at all. I also think that this parent is also depressed since he/she is unemployed and stays at home every day. My other parent works all day long, doesn't do much, and is, i think, addicted to technology to try to ignore my other parent’s constant scolding. I love them both so very much, though.