It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board

• Hi! I'm new with some questions.

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 09-27-2018, 10:40 AM   #1
    tetramoria
    (female)

tetramoria HB User
    Hi! I'm new with some questions.

Hi Everyone,

I joined these message boards because I am seeking advice and guidance about what I think is a hypothyroidism issue.

I have *ridiculous* symptoms. As in:
    I'm always cold,
    I gained ~60 pounds over the course of a year without changing anything. Dieted/fasted and nada. nothing. zip. I lose a pound, I gain a pound.
    My skin bruises easily, my nails are so brittle they snap off and flake, with ridges, my hair is thinning so much you can see my scalp
    I have ligament laxity and have injured myself to the point of needing 3 ligament repairs
    I have deQuervain's tenosynovitis, plantar fasciitis, a torn hip flexor...
    Vertigo, tinnitus, extreme fatigue, insomnia
    Family history of thyroid disease.

I've cut out gluten, raw goitrogens, all soy, dairy, nightshades.

So the "doctors" test me for hypothyroidism and every time they say it's normal and they tell me to "eat less move more" (until my last ligament surgery, I was exercising 8 hours a week min).

Here are my numbers for the only 2 tests the stingy health"care" provider have been willing to get me: TSH - 3.43 uIU/ml, free T4 - 0.94 ng/dL. And they are within the range provided so he does nothing, other than to tell me again to eat less and move more. So I did some research about acceptable ranges, and possibly the TSH is not normal?

I sent the "doctor" with my research, my pitch for a full thyroid panel (TSH, T4, free T4, T3, free T3, T3 uptake, reverse T3, TPO Ab, Tg Ab) and all he is willing to do is TPO Ab (I have a fairly recent TSH and free T4 so that's all good, but none of the others), which I guess is a minor win.