It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board

• Need Suggestions

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 10-26-2020, 08:23 PM   #1
    fw0623
    (female)

fw0623 HB User
    Need Suggestions

I was diagnosed 6 days ago and put on Levo 25 mcg/day.
    Any suggestions on how to cope with fatigue and weight gain. I walk daily at least 2 miles even before diagnosis. Should I add any supplements?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-23-2020, 01:17 PM   #2
    MaryMcK
    (female)

MaryMcK HB User
    Re: Need Suggestions

I'm not a medical doctor so take everything I say with a grain of salt (should it be iodized salt? I thiiiink so???). I was diagnosed ~15 years ago. I still haven't found the right treatment. I also have tried many many supplements and have not found anything that's helpful. The supplements industry generates billions of dollars, and it is almost unregulated, so beware of it. You can spend a small fortune trying out different vitamins and minerals and "adaptogens" and not feel the slightest bit better. Or you could find one or two things that do help. Just don't expect any miracles.

Ideally, your doctor or functional medicine practitioner would order a panel of blood tests to see if you have any deficiencies. In my case, I was low in Vitamin D despite spending a lot of time outside (some people are not able to make enough), and my iodine was at the low end of the normal range. So I take Vitamin D and one daily drop of liquid iodine (the kind that's meant for consumption - not the red-brown kind). That is 150 mcg, the recommended daily dose. I did actually find that my nails stopped breaking after I started the iodine, so I take back (a little) what I said above about nothing being helpful.