It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board

• Received FT3 & FT4 results, please help with interpreting

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-17-2004, 02:53 PM   #1
    Peeps

Peeps HB User
    Question Received FT3 & FT4 results, please help with interpreting

Hi,

I just received the lab results in the mail for my Free T3 and Free T4 and would like to have your help interpreting them, please.

A little background: I just started on Levoxl 25 mcg this morning. I have been indicating hypo for at least 8 years worth of TSH tests, but have always been told I was fine or borderline. I pursued getting further testing and evaluation after the Dec ’03 TSH was 6.27 and the doctor again labeled me borderline and instructed me via a letter to retest in 6 months. I replied with my own letter stating symptoms, other info, and requesting further testing and evaluating, to which my GP agreed.

My labs drawn on 3-9-04 were:

TSH = 6.21 indicated High on report

Free T3 = 4.49 (range 2.39-6.79)

Free T4= 0.44 (range 0.58-1.64) Indicated Low on report

POSITIVE for antibodies (the nurse did not include the antibody report, so I called to request it again – all I know is that she said I tested positive when phoning me with the results. I don’t know if there are different ones that were done with numbers listed)

Regarding the antibody test done, is it possible that a test was run that would ‘just’ indicate positive or negative? OR will there always be numbers stated and would there also be a panel of antibody tests run when an antibody test is requested? I requested that I be checked for thyroid antibodies and that is as much as I know in regard to the test done.