It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board

• what is the truth about labs?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 05-12-2004, 02:32 PM   #1
    softcrush
    Inactive
    (female)

softcrush HB User
    Question what is the truth about labs?

Hi All!

I'm new to all this, so bear with me. I've read the other posts and plan on copying them so I can read them laying down.

I have a question about labs. I want to know specifically why 6 weeks is the time you have to wait in between labs? What labs should be ordered and what are the ideal levels? Then...how does one determine what the proper dose of which med is to get the desired effect?

I got a full T done just over a month ago and started 100mcg of Sythroid every morning two weeks later. I am just over 105lbs., and I take nortriptylin at night along with my ortho-lo.

The problem is I started out going to the gym feeling fine, then BAM! Major energy drop hits me and I'm unable to get across the room. I've been this way for a week and its steadily getting worse. I'm starting to get very dizzy and the room is spinning. Since I suffered nerve damage to my vocal cords, I can barely talk now, I still have trouble swallowing too and have to be careful when drinking liquids, and feel like someone is trying to choke me. So, all in all its a little rough right now.

Can someone give me some advice on how best to proceed. I've been told, that I shouldn't need to call the doctor for two more weeks and then its will be another two after that to get a new labs drawn. I feel like I might be dead by then. Do you think that is possible or am I just overreacting?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-12-2004, 03:28 PM   #2
    jacqbu
    Veteran
    (female)

jacqbu HB User
    Re: what is the truth about labs?

I don't know the answers but I will pray for you.

Old 05-12-2004, 03:36 PM   #3
    dea4
    Senior Veteran
    (female)