It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board

• Thyroid Uptake Pre-Worries - Does this sound right?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 05-21-2004, 08:25 AM   #1
    dignity
    (female)

dignity HB User
    Thyroid Uptake Pre-Worries - Does this sound right?

I'm new to the board and have been trying to gather information on the Thyroid Uptake exam.

My background is that I had went to the doctor because of a tightness or a strangling sensation in my neck that I had for at that time 6 month. I also had a lot of symptoms of being hypo (weight gain, tired all the time, etc). MY blood tests came back fine (I don't have my exact TSH level or anything like that because I didn't know what to ask for at the time). After the blood tests came back, I was ready to pass it off as stress. My doctor however was not going to let me get away with that, and he said he felt a "swollen spot" on the right side of my throat.

I went for my ultrasound. I was only able to talk to a nurse about my results from the ultrasound - she said they found a complex nodule on the right side and that I needed a Thyroid Uptake.

From everything I've read, most places make you fast for several hours. I asked the place that I'm going to have mine done and they said it was not necessary. The only thing they did is they had to schedule it in June because I was taking a multi-vitamin.

Unfortunately I won't know anything more until the end of June.

My questions are (so far):
    Can they tell the difference between a cyst and a nodule on an ultrasound?
    Is it normal not to have to fast for a thyroid uptake exam?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-21-2004, 08:44 AM   #2
    zekat
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

zekat HB User
    Re: Thyroid Uptake Pre-Worries - Does this sound right?