It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board

• Graves and aspartame? Your thoughts?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-12-2006, 08:55 AM   #1
    Robbit
    (female)

Robbit HB User
    Question Graves and aspartame? Your thoughts?

Hi all: I am unfortunately a new member of this board. My son is 10, Type 1 diabetic, and just this past week diagnosed with Grave's Disease (Hyperthyroid.) I am a researcher, so did what comes naturally and searched the internet for info. I kept running across info connecting Graves with aspartame use. Now the thing is, with him being diabetic, he consumes quite a bit of drinks with aspartame. In the last month we have "treated" him to a big case of diet Crush drinks--of course sweetened with aspartame. He has been so excited to have these new drinks that he has had about 2 cans a day for the last month. Not to mention he drinks Crystal Lite (sweetened with aspartame) for breakfast...

What I am reading (from anti-aspartame websites AND published medical reports) is that aspartame poisoning can mimic Graves (and other diseases) and that by stopping consumtion symptoms can go away?

I am totally not someone that believes in "cures" etc, esp with a child with Type 1 diabetes (for the last 8 years.) I am very practical and trust the medical world.

Anyone have any thoughts on this connection???
    Take care!
    Robbit

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-13-2006, 12:23 PM   #2
    hyperkim
    Veteran
    (female)

hyperkim HB User
    Re: Graves and aspartame? Your thoughts?

Robbit,

Yes, there is a definite connection between graves and aspartame. For me anyway.