It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board

• folicular lesion/hurthle cell metaplasia

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 10-17-2006, 06:24 AM   #1
    slytig
    (female)

slytig HB User
    Exclamation folicular lesion/hurthle cell metaplasia

Hello everyone, I am new to the message board & looking for some advice/information. I recently discovered that I had a nodule on my right thyroid. I had a FNA a couple of weeks ago which showed folicular lesion & hurthle cell metaplasia. My ENT states I need to have part of my thyroid removed, however wants me to see an endocrinologist first to make sure my thyroid level is normal before she does the surgery. She said it was to dangerous to perform the surgery if my levels were still low. I have been on thyroid meds for a little over a month now. I do have an appointment to see endo doctor this week. I have read many things on hurthle cells & folicullar lesions. Still confused, concerned & don't know exactly what to expect. Should I be concerned, what are the chances of this being cancer & these hurthle cells, what are they?? Are hurthle cells more of a concern than folicular lesions? Any advice or just calming words would help. Thank you.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-17-2006, 06:37 AM   #2
    tygwyn
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

tygwyn HB User
    Re: folicular lesion/hurthle cell metaplasia

Hi

Sorry to hear you're having to go through this worry. There have been a couple of girls lately discussing the same time of cells (LisaBob for one). Hopefully one of them will be along shortly to offer you some advise. In the meantime if you do a search using the 'search' function at the top right corner you should hopefully find previous threads.

Good luck and take care

Rach xxxx

Old 10-17-2006, 06:43 AM   #3
    slytig
    (female)

slytig HB User