It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board

• Just Diagnosed Hyperthyroidism. Have questions.

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 11-13-2006, 07:39 PM   #1
    HuntleyBill
    (male)

HuntleyBill HB User
    Just Diagnosed Hyperthyroidism. Have questions.

Hi Everyone:
    I'm new to this web board and also to Hyperthyroidism. Here is my story in brief.

About 4 months ago I went to my doctor with chest pain. He sent me to a cardiologist who did an angio-plasty (if I spelled it wrong...sorry) and ended up putting is stents. I still had chest pain. The cardio guy sent me to a gastro doctor who said my problem is cardio.

I then went to the University of Chicago hospitals and another cardio doctor who gave me a 4th stress test and said my heart if fine and sent me to their gastro doctor. Yes, you guessed it, he said my stomach is fine it must be cardio.

I went back to my regular doctor still complaining of stomach/chest/throat pain and tremors. He told me to go to the Mayo Clinic. I did and in 15 min. they dignosed me with Hyper thyroid. Yes we all discussed why 5 doctors over 4 months couldn't figure me out as this is a "no brainer" diagnosis, but I don't want to bore you all with all the details.

I'm going back next week to do the test where they give me the pills and they measure the thyroid absorbtion but, and here is my question, they are talking about "burning out" my thyroid as a POSSIBLE treatment.

I'm reading all the input here and it seems that the "burning out" of the thyroid is a bad idea???? Talking with the doctors at the Mayo Clinic I get the impression that this type of treatment is pretty standard. Is it????

What are the pros and cons of that procedure and/or is it better to do a drug treatment?? Although it seems from reading through these posts that "getting stable" and going into remission is quite a fiasco in itself.