It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board

• Amour thyroid adverse reaction

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 07-11-2007, 03:09 PM   #1
    Daisy1
    (female)

Daisy1 HB User
    Exclamation Amour thyroid adverse reaction

I am new to the hypothyroid world and now very frightened. I was placed on Armour thyroid about 4 weeks ago and graduated from 1/4 grain to 1 full grain with seemingly no adverse affects at first. I seemed to do alright for about a week on the full grain and then 3 days ago I started to have severe sleep problems, severe anxiety attacks and extreme nausea, shaking, tingling in hands and feet. I took the medication in the morning on an empty stomach yesterday after being awake for hours and fighting the nausea and shaking. After making it through the day with some trembling and nausea and difficulty eating, I went to my doctor who said my tests from last week showed a low/normal for T4 and and low TSH... so all was normal. Since my symptoms seemed to reflect too much thryoid, we would decrease the dose to 3/4 grain.

I made it through the evening and then at 10:15 or so began feeling extreme anxiety, nausea, bowel activity and shaking again. (I hadn't taken any thyroid since morning.) I was awake for hours fighting the symptoms until I finally passed out with the aid of benedryl. I asked my doctor if I could just not take it at all today... which she agreed... and am struggling from shaky feelings and nausea throughout the day.

When I started on the medication my tests showed a low/normal T4 but a very high level of TSH and I was exhibiting low thyroid exaustion. I am very sensitive to any oral medications though, and had a similar reaction to oral estrogen/progesterone a few years ago after 2 weeks of taking it. It took me months to recover from that experience. I feel too overwhelmed to go through this again!