It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board

• hurthle cell carcinoma

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 10-29-2008, 04:18 PM   #1
    blueskyrr1
    (female)

blueskyrr1 HB User
    hurthle cell carcinoma

Hi, I am new to message boards but curious for feedback. Almost 1 year ago I had half my thyroid out with a tumor that supposedly was benign. Turned out to be minimally invasive hurthle cell carcinoma. The ENT who did my surgery and an oncologist that I got a second opinion from, both advised me to not proceed with a full thyroidectamy.

They told me, being minimally invasive that I don't have to worry about it spreading to other body parts besides the neck. They said to moniter with ultrasounds for 5 years and if any growths in my neck then proceed. I had left it at that and for some reason now I am having some doubts.

My doctors told me not to believe the info online that EVERYONE should proceed with full treatment right away. Any opinions?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-29-2008, 05:13 PM   #2
    Reece
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

Reece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB User
    Re: hurthle cell carcinoma

ok, here are my thoughts---I had pappillary thyroid cancer 3.5 yrs ago, full thyroidectomy, and RAI to kill off any thyroid cells, and now my tsh is suppressed to reduce the chances of a recurrence---the full spectrum of treatment, yet I had pappillary, the least likely to spread.

If you really trust your doctors, and they are at a good hospital (teaching/university level) that's fine. Thyroid cancer in general is not that agressive, so if you are being monitored very closely, and your tsh is suppressed, that's fine.