It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board

• Hyper hell! anyone out there on 60mg tapazole?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-04-2009, 02:16 AM   #1
    ciaobella82
    (female)

ciaobella82 HB User
    Unhappy Hyper hell! anyone out there on 60mg tapazole?

I'm new at this but here goes... I recently paid a visit to the ER having a thyroid storm, so they tell me. I had been having these extreme symptoms for over 2 months. It was so bad I couldn't even leave the house. I had no idea this stuff could kill me. I had been off my hyperthyroid meds for 6 months when my symptoms came back with a vengeance. I held off on seeking medical attention for 3 months for the same reason i went off my meds, lost my insurance. Before I stopped my meds, I was on 10mg tapazole/per day(which had been worked down from 20mg). I have a toxic nodule but never really asked too many questions because the meds seemed to help and I had no idea what I was dealing with. My ER visit landed me on 40mg tapazole and 60mg propranolol which after 2 wks my doctor has now increased (about a week ago) to 60mg tap. and 160mg propr. daily. My test results were T4- 6.0 and TSH-0 at the ER and two wks later T4-3.2 , TSH-0. In the past 3 weeks I have gained 10lbs but a lot of my symptoms still haven't subsided. I don't know anyone who has hyperthyroidism so I'm looking for some feedback from ppl who do. Is anyone out there on 60mg tapazole (which I've found to be the max dose)? Does anyone else experience serious mood swings on this stuff? How long before they go down on the dose? Will my weight stabilize (on the lower dose i never gained weight)? Do you have any personal info on RAI? My doctor is really pushing me to the RAI but she even told me that's because HYPO is easier to treat/control than HYPER and I've read online that dr's push it bc it's cheaper and easier for them. In general, I would appreciat