It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board

Newly diagnosed, Low tsh, normal T3, T4, very confused about diagnosis and treatment

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-16-2009, 10:22 PM   #1
teddybear111
(female)

teddybear111 HB User
Newly diagnosed, Low tsh, normal T3, T4, very confused about diagnosis and treatment

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie. It's been a whirlwind of a few months since being newly diagnosed with a toxic nodule/hyper/subclinical hyper whatever it is. How it all began. I was ttc after over a year, w/o luck (I'm 30 y/o). I went to see my pcp and found I had tsh levels of 0.19 but T4 was normal @1.26. Was referred to an endo, who ran more labs, this time tsh was .20 and T4 was 1.23, T3 was 2.9, TSH and anti TPO were negative. Also had a uptake done, in which the 6 hour uptake was 24% (normal 6-18%), and the 24 hour is 33.2% (normal 5-35%), and 'hot' nodules were found. No physical side affects except hair loss and a bit hyperactiveness. Ultrasound shows a complex right lower mass, showing 2.7x2.0x1.8 cm with increased vascularity in the solid componet and a nearly 50% cystic componet. So, endo #1 diagnosed me with a hyperfunctioning right lobe, along with possibly early hyperthyroidism, and the diagnoisis was a toxic uninodular goiter w/a 2.5 cm nodule. He suggested surgery and put me on methamizole as an antithyroid treatment until the right thyroid was removed. I decided to seek another endo's opinion because I DID NOT want surgery or the scar.