It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board

• Early stages of Graves Disease

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-13-2010, 01:43 PM   #1
    tired27
    (female)

tired27 HB User
    Early stages of Graves Disease

Hello,
    I am new to the message board and was wondering if anyone has the same problem as me. I am a 27yr female. I went for a checkup to find out my TSH levels were a little low and was referred to an Endo. (Hypo runs in the family and I requested this test). He ran more blood test with a thyroid uptake scan. When I got the results he tells me that it looks like it's early signs of Graves Disease and couldn't give me any medication for the multiple symptoms I was feeling such as, Nausea, Dizziness, Confusion, Palpitations, Blurred Vision, Shortness of Breath, Weak, Hair loss. The thyroid uptake (optic scan) showed an increase of the thyroid by 39% when he said it should be at 30%, I have high antibodies and don't know the number, but that my THS levels were borderline. My blood pressure was 90/60 which is extremly unusual for me. Mine is always normal. He had nothing to say about the blood pressure. He also tells me he will not prescribe anything until my thyroid levels are increased or decreased. Almost as if I turn into Hypo or Hyper. I don't understand why I have to get worse to get medication. He told me if he gave me something now that I would turn into hypo or hyper. And that there was definitely something wrong with me, but that he wasn't sure what it is. I'm supposed to have blood work done next month and then go back. Does this sound normal for Graves Disease? I feel like I'm getting the run around. I would appreciate any help

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-13-2010, 02:32 PM   #2
    Reece
    Senior Veteran
    (female)