It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board

• 4 large >1 cm nodules; 1 cyst, 3 solid; L & R lobe involvement

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 11-05-2011, 03:40 PM   #1
    sburgess1978
    (female)

sburgess1978 HB User
    4 large >1 cm nodules; 1 cyst, 3 solid; L & R lobe involvement

Hello!
    This is my first time posting on this board. I have only just gotten the report from a thyroid ultrasound. My story is complicated due to the fact that I have a brain tumor near my pituitary, so it's possible that the non-cancerous pituitary thing caused this? In any case, I'm going to just stick to my thyroid questions for the purpose of advise for what I need to ask the endocrinologist.

I had blood work done earlier this year which showed my TSH level as normal. However, the recent (Oct 27, 2011) ultrasound findings were as follows:

Right Lobe: (1) 1.6 x 0.9 x 1.3 cm predominantly cystic, (2) 0.8 x 1.2 cm iso or hypoechoic solid, (3) 0.9 x 1.3 cm hypoechoic solid.

Left Lobe: (1) 0.8 x 0.6 x 0.9 cm solitary minimally hypoechoic oval shaped nodule with some see through-transmission.

Impression: Four thyroid lesions, 3 of which are solid

Any advise as to what I should ask the endocrinologist? What to expect at the appointment, and if anyone else has seen or had a case like this before.. what was the outcome?

Thank you in advance for reading this.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-05-2011, 03:57 PM   #2
    Reece
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

Reece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB User
    Re: 4 large >1 cm nodules; 1 cyst, 3 solid; L & R lobe involvement

You could have a "multinodular goiter" a lumpy bumpy thyroid--you should get an fna on the larger one, these are likely benign, but you should watch for changes over time.