It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board

Change in Labs Question

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-19-2012, 11:04 AM   #1
emv1016
(female)

emv1016 HB User
Change in Labs Question

This is my first time posting, but I have been reading the board a lot over the last six months.

I was diagonsed with a "sluggish" thyroid in May 2011 when my TSH got slightly above 4. I started on 50mcg of Levothyroxine until the fall of 2011 when the doctor bumped it up to 75mcg since my TSH was still above 2 and I was continuing to feel unwell.

Since my PCP was forgetting to schedule follow-up lab appointments (I would have to ask if I should make an appointment) I asked to be referred to an endo. My first appointment with the endo was in January 2012 where my TSH was right at 1.5 and my Ft4 was around 1.0 (range 0.74ng/dL to 1.83ng/dL). My Vit D was in the 20s (range 30-80 ng/mL) so they suggested I bump up my daily dose from 2000 units to 4000 units per day and get retested in April.

I just got the April results back and my TSH has gone down to 0.356 (range 0.46 to 4.70 uIU/mL) which the nurse said was borderline hyperthyroid but that the doctor didn't want to change dose yet and to come back in 6 weeks for a re-test.

I asked for a copy of the full results and see that my Vit D has come up into the normal range (37.3 with same range as above) but that my Ft4 is still in the bottom third of the normal range (this time is was 1.12 with the same range as above).

I definitely do not want to lower my dose of Levo (still feel generally "slow" compared to how I felt in 2008 which is the last time I felt "normal"). Is it strange for my TSH to fall so rapidly from January to April with no change in my dosage and for my Ft4 to stay so constant?? All of my labs from 2011 generally showed a TSH between 1.5 and 2.5 (PCP never did a free T4 test).