It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board

• thyroid

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-09-2013, 02:37 PM   #1
    overcommingpain
    (female)

overcommingpain HB User
    thyroid

Hello everyone...I am new to this but am intrigued by the amount of information on this site.

I just recently had my thyroid levels tested because the Dr. believed that I was showing signs of Hashimoto's (exhausted, cold hands and feet, goitre, Raynaud's, shortness of breath, weight gain in spite of eating healthy and 40 mins of walking each day, my temp will also dip down very low, lowest ever was 33.1 c.). The test came back and he advised...well the secretary advised they were fine but to make sure I go ahead with my ultrasound that was booked. I asked for a hard copy of my results and when I received them I was confused!
    TSH -- 4.2 (0.35 - 5.0)
    Free T4 --17 (12 - 22)
    Free T3 -- 6 H (2.6 -5.7)
    Now from everything I have read, I believe that your TSH and T3/T4 numbers work like a see-saw. When one is up the other goes down. Am I understanding this right? Mine are all high on the normal range with the exception of my T3 being High. Is this normal?
    I have had my ultra sound done since then and the lady who did my ultra sound was very forth coming. She advised as soon as she applied the thing to my neck, "WOW, well there certainly is something going on here"! She then went on to tell me that my thyroid was enlarged with an uneven texture and multi nodular. That was on a Friday and advised that the Dr. will have the test results on Monday. Well my Dr. , of course, is away on vacation...so here I am, dazed and confused as what to think. I have been so unwell for as long as I can remember and can not stand the thought of my GP telling me that there is nothing to worry about....unless...there is nothing to worry about.