It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board

• Thyroid nodule or parathyroid tumor?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-13-2013, 07:18 PM   #1
    MeganY24
    (female)

MeganY24 HB User
    Thyroid nodule or parathyroid tumor?

Hello! This is my first time posting. For the past few weeks I've been experiencing a ton of weird symptoms which may or may not be related. I had an abdominal ultrasound done after having sharp pains that revealed cortical scarring and a 5mm cyst on my right kidney. Ten days ago I woke up with a cramp in the back of my right thigh that processed into a burning spasm accompanied by tingling and numbness that last the entire day. The next day I started feeling a tightness in the left side of my neck and pain under my ear and in my jaw. The pressure in my head got so bad that I went to the ER and demanded a CT scan because I believed I was having a stroke (or a TIA). The CT scan showed a nodule on my thyroid, so I didn't have a stroke (yay!). I went in for bloodwork at my PCP's office to check my thyroid levels and everything was normal. The only that was elevated was my BUN and BUN/creatinine levels, so I will assume that my kidney function is less than perfect. My calcium levels, total protein and albumin were all borderline high. My calcium was 10.2 which would put me in the hypercalciemia catagory according to most labs. I've done my research on elevated calcium levels and poor kidney function and everything points to hyperparathyroidism. Now I'm confused because I've read that CT scans can't pick up parathyroid tumors. I'm also in a bit of a predicament because my dr has schedule a thyroid scan and reuptake and I'm currently breastfeeding. I spoke to the nuclear medicine tech who told me I would be radioactive and unable to breastfeed for 10-14 days. Has anyone been through a similar situation. Have any advice?

Sponsors Lightbulb