It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

TMJ Disorder -TemporoMandibular Joint Message Board

• Appliance not helping

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 02-08-2020, 06:19 AM   #1
    zacharias
    (female)

zacharias HB User
    Appliance not helping

Hi all,

I have had clicking on one side of my jaw without pain for a couple of years ago, usually while chewing. When the clicking became more frequent and was accompanied by an occasional painful popping feeling, I sought help from a dentist who specializes in TMJ disorders. He made me a hard acrylic appliance for my bottom teeth, which he adjusts every 4 weeks as, supposedly, my jaw is moving forward. I have been wearing the appliance 24/7 for 5 months now. Usually the appliance keeps my jaw from clicking, but recently my jaw began clicking even with the appliance in.

The dentist initially said the treatment would last 4-5 months. Now he is saying that when my jaw finishes moving forward (probably in two more months), I'll likely need an Inman brace for several months (and several more thousands of dollars). My insurance doesn't cover any of this, and it's costing a small fortune, as the dentist charges for each adjustment.

I am beginning to wonder whether all of this is normal TMJ treatment or if this dentist is actually trying to make the treatment take as long as possible to keep the cash coming. What was supposed to be a 4-5 month treatment now looks like close to a year. Should I at least be experiencing a reduction in clicking after 5 months when I try eating without the appliance? I had never experienced clicking when eating with the appliance in place until recently. Help?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-10-2020, 10:42 PM   #2
    MountainReader
    Senior Veteran
    (female)