It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

TMJ Disorder -TemporoMandibular Joint Message Board

• Can Someone Please, Please Help a Newbie?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-31-2003, 08:03 AM   #1
    looney

looney HB User
    Question Can Someone Please, Please Help a Newbie?

Dear all,

I am brand new to TMJD and this site. Apparently I've had TMJ for about 9 months now. I know I need help because I'm in moderate to severe pain daily. I've just skimmed through a few posts, and I can see that this group has acquired a lot of knowledge and support through this site.

I have been predisposed to having TMJ my whole life, as I have a decent overbite and I've been a night grinder since a child. I'm now 31. Anyway, about 9 months I came off a benzodiazapine medication that caused a severe withdrawal. I experienced bad muscle tightness, spasm, and cramping all over my whole body. Since then, I've had so much muscle tightness in my jaw, it's unbelievable.

I made an appointment at a neuromuscular dentist and he seems knowledgeable, although I have my doubts after reading the posts here. He says both my discs are dislocated (or pulled over the condoyle).