It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

TMJ Disorder -TemporoMandibular Joint Message Board

TMJ/Jaw Clicking/Popping

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-20-2004, 02:23 PM   #1
kikaida01

kikaida01 HB User
TMJ/Jaw Clicking/Popping

I have had tmj for about 8 months. Mostly all the dentists say my tmj is mild. I don't have much pain but just a tension build up on my facial area. I also have OCD-Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder and what I have been doing for the past 6 months is cracking my jaw throughout the day. My tmj is acting up again and my jaw and facial area is feeling tensed. I feel tired when this happens. My question is by popping/cracking my jaw, what do you think I have been damaging? The ligaments, joints, or muscles or all? The symptoms I am experiencing now is my muscles are all tight, and it clicks and makes a grating noise when I open my jaw. But I can still open my mouth wide. Do you think I have permanently damaged my jaw or do you think if I stop this bad habit it will get better in time?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-22-2004, 07:02 PM   #2
SRH_NF_isback

SRH_NF_isback HB User
Re: TMJ/Jaw Clicking/Popping

Hello: