It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

TMJ Disorder -TemporoMandibular Joint Message Board

Need advice from veteran splint users!

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-09-2005, 11:57 AM   #1
tina1966
Inactive

tina1966 HB User
Need advice from veteran splint users!

Hello,
I am Tina and I have several posts on here. I am doing better with physical therapy now..slowly but surely. My tmj joints are in order according to an xray I had done and my bite is fine, however, the oral surgeon I saw said I needed a new splint...I have been wearing mine now for about 2 years and it does have broken off pieces in the back, so I suppose I do need a new one made. My question is this....Will I have to wear this splint for the rest of my life? It's a bottom splint, so I do have concerns also about having any kind of dental work done on the bottom teeth like crowns or a root canal. Its something I just really have been wondering about. I wore my splint full time for one year and then wore it only at night the next year...now am wearing it full time again because of relapse of this due to overexerting myself. Has anyone had crowns put on and helped? or what about braces? All the dentists I have seen have just said "yes, you will have to wear it for the rest of your life". I would really like some serious input here from people who have been wearing them for a long time or who know alot about the mora splint.
THanks so much! Tina

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-09-2005, 02:14 PM   #2
TiffanyAnn
Senior Veteran

TiffanyAnn HB User
Re: Need advice from veteran splint users!

Hi Tina: