It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Weight Loss Message Board

• Gastric Bybass Surgery Related Death - Please Read

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 11-22-2005, 02:45 PM   #1
    Marge C
    (female)

Marge C HB User
    Gastric Bybass Surgery Related Death - Please Read

My daughter, Johnine, was a beautiful, loving and caring person. She would help anyone if they needed it. She made the world a better place in the short time she was here. Johnine had gastric bypass surgery on November 24, 2004, the day before Thanksgiving. She was 29 years old and married with a one-year-old daughter.

She was a hairdresser by trade and because of her profession, she was required to be on her feet for long hours. Johnine developed sciatica in her lower back that traveled to her legs causing a great deal of pain. Her wish, which she told her surgeon, was to wake up in the morning without pain. Johnine was healthy in every way except that she had a hard time controlling her weight. The doctor told her that the weight was causing her back problem and that if she lost a significant amount of weight, the pain would cease. He then told her that she was a prime candidate for gastric bypass surgery. She heard of people having great success with the surgery in the media and she met two people who had the surgery successfully at a party.