It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Women's Health Message Board

• Questions about heavy periods

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 06-02-2017, 10:56 PM   #1
    heyytheree
    (female)

heyytheree HB User
    Questions about heavy periods

Whenever I get my period, it is so uncomfortable that I don't even want to sit down because I know when I standup I will feel a gush of blood and have to rush to get to a bathroom in time. It is so uncomfortable that I won't even make plans when I know should have my period because I feel like I can't sit down for an extended amount of time. I am a teacher and standing and walking around for 42 minutes each period while teaching is even uncomfortable for me. It is worse when I am sitting down for the whole 42 minutes and I have to rush to the bathroom when the bell rings and hope that I can get to the bathroom without being stopped in the hallway. I have taken off work for this reason in the past but I can't really afford to take off whenever I have my period. I don't know if this is normal or if I should think about seeing a doctor. I am only 24 years old and not on birth control or anything like that.

Last edited by heyytheree; 06-02-2017 at 10:58 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-03-2017, 07:18 AM   #2
    Titchou
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

Titchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB User
    Re: Questions about heavy periods

It is normal for many women. I was that way - 7-8 day period with flooding for 2-3 days. 2 super tampons at a time. Birth control can help. I'd see your gyno and have a talk about it.

Old 06-03-2017, 10:09 AM   #3
    STLouisgal
    Senior Veteran
    (female)