It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Women's Health Message Board

• Bad Pap - LSIL to ASC-H in 9 months! Need advice

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 10-30-2019, 03:20 PM   #1
    SIgirl
    (female)

SIgirl HB User
    Bad Pap - LSIL to ASC-H in 9 months! Need advice

Hey everyone, I'm new to the Health Boards, and I guess I'm looking to connect with others who may be going through the same thing as I am right now.

I am 36, and no kids.
    I have had yearly exams since I was 16.

October 2018 - I went for my yearly exam thinking everything would fine as it always has been in the past, unfortunately that was not the case. I received a letter from my gynecologist's office that invited my for a colposcopy and biopsy. So I call to schedule and appointment ASAP only to find out that my doctor requires 3 months from the time of a pap to the time of a colposcopy. I was far from happy to wait that long. I had never had an abnormal pap until now, and was understandably frightened.

January 2019 - The colposcopy and biopsy was not as bad as what I thought it would be, actually was painless for the most part. She took two punch biopsies and scraped my cervical canal. I had very little bleeding afterwards and really no pain or soreness.

My doctor called me in less than 24 hours with my results
    Low grade squamous intraepithelial lesion (LSIL)
    HPV Genotype 16 - Detected

My doctor told me that we would monitor it and to come back for another pap in October.

October 2019 - Had my yearly exam. I crossed my fingers that everything would be back to normal, unfortunately that was not the case. It came back
    Atypical squamous cells of undetermined significance, cannot exclude high grade squamous intraepithelial lesion (ASC-H) and still positive for HPV 16.

I go back in December for yet another colposcopy and biopsy.